Home > Introduction - What's Required > Consistency is Key

Consistency is Key

  1. Mark
    October 1, 2010 at 5:25 pm

    For me, to really retain something (like language), I learn by writing – so I have chosen to learn to read, write, and speak Thai at the same time. I saw this post before my recent trip and decided to try it out…

    I couldn’t find a notebook that I liked (don’t smirk – there was a reason) – so instead, I just kept a folded piece of paper in my pocket (ala http://www.pocketmod.com – but I didn’t cut the dotted line). This, plus the pen I always have with me… and I was able to converse and learn with just about anyone I encountered.

    As for the reason for the pocket mod and not a notebook? I needed something to sit flat in my pocket and not get caught on anything on the way in or out. I could not finnd my preferred moleskines – all I could find were those crappy spiral notepads that I have never liked…

    End result: In two weeks, I filled six “booklets” – refilling from the hotel stationary folder in my room when I needed a new one.

    When interacting with the Thai’s, the doors really opened when they understood I was serious about having them write the word I didn’t understand in Thai… after that, there was almost a line of people wanting to teach me a new word (or simply to see if I could really read words in Thai).

    Well worth the experiment. (Of course, now these booklets are very valuable to me – and fragile… time to find a thin notebook for my next trip… but then again, maybe I’m just made for “cheap” paper…)

  2. gwindarr
    October 2, 2010 at 1:37 am

    Thanks! That looks pretty cool. I’m gonna print out some test books later and carry it around for a few days. The problem with these little ring-pads that I keep in my back pocket is that the rings inevitably get crushed.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

