Home > Silly Signs > More Funny Signs

More Funny Signs

Anything unusual about this picture?  

หามรถทุกชนิดผ่าน

หาม should be ห้าม as in “No vehicles of any kind beyond this point.”

หาม  is like แบก – 

Without the tone mark its something along the lines of  “All vehicles beyond this point are to be carried on (your) back.”

  

 

How about this one?

img_24222

  1. Abbie
    March 17, 2009 at 2:47 pm

    I don’t notice anything weird about the top one.

    Took me a while, but I see the mistake in the 2nd! Hah. Now I want to figure out the top one.

  2. roni
    March 17, 2009 at 3:23 pm

    well… someone painted over the tone mark in green in the first one… is that funny?

  3. gwindarr
    March 17, 2009 at 3:31 pm

    Well, what does it mean with the tone mark? And without?

  4. Bobthemonkey
    March 18, 2009 at 2:08 pm

    This has taken me back to my pointy hat with the “D” on it days, where I spent many years sitting at the back of the class. Well the first one with the tone mark removed looks like it literally means “take vehicle every over” – i.e. All vehicles can use and with the tone mark “forbid vehicle every over” – i.e. No vehicles can use. Pretty redundant sign with the gate.
    The second one is giving me grief because I can’t make out the second character. Wouldn’t it be good if they only used the one clear legible font….. The rest of the message is rather witty though. Please do me a favour and delete this whole entry if I am wrong. Thanks

  5. 5tash
    March 19, 2009 at 5:09 pm

    First sentence;

    What it should read – ห้ามรถทุกชนิดผ่าน “All types of vehicle are forbidden (to pass)”.

    What it does read – หามรถทุกชนิดผ่าน “Carry all types of vehicle to get passed”.

    Second sentence;

    What it should read – เขตพักผ่อนหย่อนใจและออกกำลังกาย “Rest and exercise area”.

    What it does read – เขตพักผ่อนหยอนใจและออกกำลังกาย “Thrilling rest and exercise area”.

  6. Abbie
    March 19, 2009 at 11:29 pm

    Oh! I read หาม as ห่าม without even noticing.

    The first word of the 2nd sign is เขต, “area”. I assume เขตพักผ่อน is “rest area.”

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

