Home > Video > I Also Speak English Sometimes

I Also Speak English Sometimes

Not too often though.  This is a vid about tones.  It got cut off when the mem card filled up and I never finished it.  Its a bit raw. I’m away for a few days so it will just have to do.

 

  1. Abbie
    March 27, 2009 at 7:02 pm

    The next one….??? What’s the next one??!?!

    You should finish this video and do it up properly! I liked your explanation of the low tone and would love to hear more. I’m really dismal with tones, especially discerning high and falling.

    As to what you say about pronunciation… I concur. I think most people just don’t understand that the inventory of possible sounds is much larger than the inventory their language uses. Or the difference between a phone and a phoneme.

  2. Edmund
    March 29, 2009 at 12:51 am

    I’ve been trying to help my girlfriend with learning Mandarin, with Han Yu Pin Yin. She’s having massive difficulties with the vowels, and dipthongs and all.

    And then I have to explain consonant sounds of “X”, “J” and “Q”. It’s frustrating for her.

    So I fully agree with how people learn with their inventory of sounds.

  3. gwindarr
    March 29, 2009 at 12:51 pm

    I suppose I could do a video sometime for the sounds of Mandarin. Is it just the actual sound system she is having trouble with or is it tones as well?

  4. gwindarr
    March 29, 2009 at 12:54 pm

    That might not be a bad idea. I gotta sort out this camera situation first. I’ll go check the shop tomorrow and see if they have good news for me. I suppose I could go through the sound system as well explaining how to form the sounds that people have trouble with….Hrm.

  5. Edmund
    March 30, 2009 at 5:20 am

    That would be great. She substitutes ช for “Q” consonants. It’s not the best fit but I don’t know how else to get her to pronounce Qun, Qin, Quan, Qian.

  6. Edmund
    March 30, 2009 at 5:24 am

    And yes, the tone system. I’ve tried to get her to understand that it’s similar to the Thai tones, not the same, but very similar.

    I’m frustrated with myself as well. I’m so familar with Mandarin but ask me to teach someone, I just don’t know where to start.

  7. Meg
    March 30, 2009 at 2:42 pm

    OMG. Cute linguist.😄..

  8. gwindarr
    March 30, 2009 at 6:31 pm

    Hrm. Linguist ‘eh? I used to associate that word with monolingual people who study grammar and sound systems of languages they can’t speak, but these days I suppose the other definition works out ok.

    Anyways, thanks for read/watching!

  9. Meg
    April 4, 2009 at 6:29 pm

    Yes, you run a pretty awesome blog. Will spread the words about the blog to friends who are learning the language!

  10. gwindarr
    April 5, 2009 at 3:19 am

    Thanks Meg.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

