Home > Tips and Tricks > My New Puppy

My New Puppy

Alright, its not new nor is it a puppy, but I’m playing with it a lot at the moment and I am liking it so far. The site is lang-8 and it is good stuff.  Its a site where you can go and write whatever nonsense you want in whatever language and people will come and check it for you.  Depending on the language, they may come very quickly.  

It is great because you can go in there and start slinging all those sentences you have in your head that are probably wrong and you can get ém checked without talking to anybody.  

The only thing I’d be wary of is the fact that native speakers aren’t always the best resource when it comes to correction.  They have a tendency to tell you how you are supposed to say something when they don’t even say it that way themselves.  Google stuff before you SRS it.  Make sure it exists and is used.

  1. May 30, 2009 at 4:05 am

    ‘The only thing I’d be wary of is the fact that native speakers aren’t always the best resource when it comes to correction. They have a tendency to tell you how you are supposed to say something when they don’t even say it that way themselves.’

    So true… so true… and a tough lesson to finally learn.

    Btw – I’m liking your new blog design.

  2. gwindarr
    May 30, 2009 at 5:30 am

    I’m still playing with the design, but I thought it was time for a fresh look.

  3. May 30, 2009 at 5:51 am

    Well, it’s looking good now, so I can’t wait to see what you’ll end up with.

    I came here after you commented on my site, and it changed while I was clicking through posts.

    Quite a surprise, and a pleasant one at that.

  4. gwindarr
    May 30, 2009 at 6:19 am

    Thanks much.

    I can imagine it must have been a bit surprising to catch the layout while reading.

  5. May 30, 2009 at 6:38 am

    I’m an insomniac and last night was one of ‘those’ nights. On top of that, I took Melatonin in the early hours, which, when waking up, sort of feels like I’ve had lobotomy.

    So when your site changed from one page to the next, my brain took a double take. Sort of like when you are really tired and you don’t know if parked cars are moving or not.

    (if you are not an insomniac, then you might not understand how much the physical world can seem to change😀

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

