Home > Movies > แฟนฉัน – Fan Chan Excerpt

แฟนฉัน – Fan Chan Excerpt

Here is a short clip with plenty of good stuff in it.   Watch and listen.  Try to pick out what you do know.  

Always focus on what you do know and let the things you don’t know pass over you.

  1. Inaki
    May 31, 2009 at 11:43 am

    Funny that you should choose that clip; The last sentence ตั้งแต่นั้นมาผมก็ไม่กล้าขี่จักรยานข้ามถนนอีกเลย was one of the first that I entered in Anki some months ago, complete with the audio.

    I have been trying to apply the All-Japanese-All-The-Time method to my Thai studies, listening to Thai radio, podcasts and TV as much as possible, looking for new words and entering sample sentences in Anki (with audio if possible) and the results so far are encouraging. When I watched this movie last year, I only understood what they were saying because there were English subtitles, but now I could understand between 80 and 90% easily. My reading skill have also improved enormously.

  2. gwindarr
    May 31, 2009 at 2:39 pm

    Glad to here its working out for you. How long have you been using the Ajatt method? Where are you based?

  3. Inaki
    May 31, 2009 at 6:29 pm

    I started about one year ago. Before I was mostly studying Japanese and leaving Thai to itself. I’m living in Bangkok. I figured that just being in Thailand and speaking Thai everyday was enough, but the fact is that after 7 years here I could not understand Thai TV, radio nor movies and I couldn’t read anything meant for people older than 5. Then I read a post in Khatzumoto’s blog where he advised against learning more than one language at the same time. He said that it’s better to focus all your efforts into mastering one language, and when you reach a native-like level, then you can use that language as the base from where to start climbing the next peak. I thought he was right and I realised how poor my Thai was. You should not compare your Thai skills with other farangs but with Thais.

    I haven’t been working too hard at reading or SRS’ing, but I have listened to a lot of Thai radio and TV, and the improvement is noticiable. You just have to be patient and constant.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

