Home > Thai Alphabet, The Basics > Remembering Middle Class Letters

Remembering Middle Class Letters

I have been messing around with Sketchcast lately and it has some potential.

I created a quick one introducing the middle class letters. Let me know if people would be interested in more of these.

Please forgive my writing as it was done with a mouse.

Here is a deck to practice the letters from the sketchcast. The most important thing at this point is connecting the English words with the letter. Hearing the words over and over should serve to anchor the sound in your mind as well.
Anki Deck – Mid Class Consonants

Remembering the Middle Class Consonants

  1. Glen
    June 11, 2010 at 11:14 am

    I thought there was 9 middle class letters.

  2. gwindarr
    June 11, 2010 at 11:18 am

    There are, but I don’t teach the other 2 in the beginning as they aren’t necessary.

  3. June 16, 2010 at 7:37 am

    Hey Gwindarr. Great stuff. I really like your site. You’ve may have heard of this other mnemonic for remembering the middle class consonants, but if you haven’t here it is:

    ไก จิก เด็ก ตาย บน ปาก โอ่ง

    It’s bit more gruesome than your story, and it doesn’t help with remembering the items associated with each letter (other than chicken and kid) but if you know them already it’s a pretty easy way to remind yourself that they all belong to the same class.

    (The) chicken pecks (the) child (to) death (while standing on the) mouth (of a) jar.

  4. gwindarr
    June 16, 2010 at 7:50 am

    Hey, thanks.

    I do know the other mnemonic, that’s how I originally learned it. I created the middle class story so students who are just starting can learn the middle class letters right away during the first lesson . Then I throw in a few of the basic vowels so they can leave that day and start picking out syllables on signs and such. Since some of my students are starting from zero, they don’t know any of those words.

  5. June 16, 2010 at 8:55 am

    Sounds very sensible and helpful for complete beginners. Thanks also for your Anki cards for Wimpy Kid. I bought the book the other day and am enjoying using the SRSs to help me through it. I have created a few decks on my site which you are welcome to use with your students if they’d be of any value. I’m just starting to seriously learn to read and write (having learnt the letters, I have bitten the bullet and decided that I ought to get on and learn the tone rules). BTW just spotted my typo in ไก่ … doh!

  6. gwindarr
    June 16, 2010 at 9:09 am

    Do you need a teacher? Depending on how you handle the info and whether you review the cards I give you enough, I could have pounded that stuff into your head in about 4-5 contact hours. Less if you know some of it already.

    I’ll have a look at your cards as well.

  7. oldmankit
    September 7, 2010 at 6:12 pm

    I love your story of the kid with the animals in the basin. I’m a visual man and that just sticks all those letters in my head like nothing else.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

