Home > Tips and Tricks, Updates > SRS Tweakage

SRS Tweakage

While I was in Korea I started doing something a little bit different and it seems to be working really well.  First, I take a piece of audio.  Usually from a short conversation from a podcast or whatever.  Than I put the whole clip on the front of an Anki card.  I put the text on the other side.  No English, so it’s stuff I kinda know, but might not catch because I’ve never really heard anybody say it before.  Then I break the clip into a bunch of pieces.  Usually an entire sentence, sometimes more if the context calls for it.  I make cards for all the individual pieces.  Then I take all the little audio clips and I throw them on my ipod and I loop it.  If a sentence pops up that I don’t really understand, I make a note to pay more attention to the card next time I see it.  This almost never happens though.  I kinda get the gist of it when making all the audio clips and typing up the conversation.  Then the repeated audio makes sure I can’t forget it.  After the audio has been floating around in my head for a while – the sentences just pop up in my head and I can say them.

  1. oldmankit
    September 13, 2010 at 8:52 am

    This sounds great. It sounds quite labour-intensive putting the cards together though. Are you making your ones public domain? I’d love to download them!

  2. gwindarr
    September 13, 2010 at 7:46 pm

    I’m not sure I’m ready to unleash this one yet. This is something I’ve been working on nearly every day for the past 6 months. Also, there isn’t any Thai. Loads of time spent creating.

    I have this theory that I learned a lot of this stuff (nearly all?) as I was actually making the card. The reviewing of the card is what keeps me from forgetting it. If somebody downloaded my loop and or cards it would probably seem like a string of nonsense sentences and short conversations in 3 languages so I’m not sure how useful this would be for someone else.

  3. oldmankit
    September 14, 2010 at 12:55 pm

    Understood. I’ll have to put the leg-work in myself then. Probably won’t do me any harm!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

